Mekele Seba won 2019 Ethiopian Premier League title


The chaotic and most controversial season comes to and on Sunday with Mekele Seba-Enderta crowning the championship title for the first time in the club’s history. Just two seasons in to the upper tier, it is a huge achievement for the club as well for the region.

Two goals from the penalty spot through Osey Mauli and Amanuel G/Kidan, Mekele won the 22nd Ethiopian Premier League championship trophy after 2-1 home victory over visitors DireDawa Ketema. Eighteen wins, five draws and seven defeats Mekele collected 59 points and 21 goals to win the title a point clear from runner up Sidama Bunna.

On top the league table for the past seven weeks and hottest title favorite Fasil Ketema threw away the first half one goal lead to settle for a 1-1 draw. An intense away match in front of a record home side supporters, visitors Fasil managed an early lead through Mujib Kasim but hardly to contain waves of attacks from the home side conceded a 66th minute equalizer from a penalty spot through Habtamu Shewalem. Following the draw the Gondor based Fasil Ketema missed a chance to win the Premier League title for the first time.

The seasons surprise package Sidama Bunna crushed visitors Welwalo-Adigrat to finish runner up after 57 points from seventeen wins, seven draws and six defeats. Goals from Addis Gedey, Addisu Tesfaye and Dawit Tefera, Sidama ended the season in style not only to turn out the season surprise package but also taking home the runner-up silver medal.