Ethiopian Premier League kicks-off in November


The 2019 Ethiopian Premier League season is set to kick off on November 16, featuring 16 sides in two rounds of fixtures. Mekele 70 Enderta is the defending champion while Sebeta Town, Hadiya-Hossana and Wolkite Town are the newly promoted sides replacing the relegated three: Mekelakeya, Debub Police and Dedebit.
As usual since the past few years Debub region is dominating the upper tier boasting five of the 16 top tiers teams. Twice former champion Hawassa, last season runner up Sidama Bunna, relegation survival Wolayta-Dicha, back to the top tier Hossana and new comer Wolkite Town are the teams that represent Southern region
Used to be home to more than half of the premier league sides Addis Ababa is pruned in to only two teams’ popular sides Saint George and Ethiopia Bunna.
Though once the country’s football creams Mekelakeya, Electric and Ethiopia Medin are camping at the lower league, Addis Ababa Football Federation appeared to have oblivious of the situation.
Mekele region fields three teams including the defending champion 70 Enderta. The side that signed the highest number of players for the new season Welwalo Adigrat and Shere-Endaselasse are representatives of the Semen Mountains.
Former champions Jimma AbaJifar, back to the top tier Sebeta Town and Adama Town are the flag ships of Oromiya region.
Amhara region has thrown two teams in to the pool, which brings together 16 teams. Knock out holders Fasil Town and nick named the Blue-Waves Baherdar Town are representing Amhara while Diredawa Town stands alone as the only representative of Eastern Ethiopia football.
Although this is the first time in recent years for the season to start so late, the newly formed League Committee suggested the fixtures will come to an end in good time before the start of the winter in June 2020.