EBC 2019 Players of the Year


Ethiopian Broadcasting Corporation 2019 Best Footballers of The Year award final short least became official on Wednesday. Premier League top scorer of the year and Women’s league Top scorers of the year Amanuel G/Michael and Senaf Wakuma are clear favorites to take home the gong. The winners will receive their award at a lavish ceremony to be held at Sky Light Hotel on the tenth of November.
Premier League top scorer Amanuel G/Kidan, Fasil Town midfielder Surafel Dagnachew and team mate yared Baye are the three finalists for the accolade. Although the final nomination was more about public opinion than professionals’ opinion, critics suggested that players that could have contested at equal grounds Sidama Coffee one man strike force who finished runner-up with 17 goals Addis Gedey and the goal machine who helped Fasil Town to stay on course until last Mujib Kasim were supposed the real contenders. In addition to bagging 15 goals Mujib also helped his team win the knock-out Cup. “These three players were the only one capable of making differences last season, I wonder how Surafel and Yared managed to join the last three” one critic suggested.
Women’s league last year revelation who managed to finish top scorer of the season Senaf Wakuma is in pole position to win the award for the first time. Steering Adama Town to its first ever championship title, Senaf finished top scorer with 23 goals in her name thus considered the front runner for the accolade. Veteran midfielder who won her fourth league title including three while with Dedebit, Senait Bogale is the closest contender. Embet Addisu of Ethiopia NegedBank is the third finalist highly regarded as a genuine playmaker that played major role in helping her side stay till lat in the title contention.