Saturday, April 13, 2024

Winners announced for personality of year


Selomon Barega and Letesenbet Gedey were named male and female athletes of 2019 while Amanuel G/Michael and Senaf Wakuma were crowned 2019 EBC Sport’s Personalities of The Year. Wami Birratu received the Life Time Achievement Award.
Mekele Sebaenderta and national team striker Amanuel G/Michael won the Best Player of The Year award ahead of Knock-out Cup duo from Fasil Town midfielder Surafel Dagnachew and defender Yared Baye. Amanuel not only helped Mekele win the Premier League title but also finished top scorer with 18 goals.
Steering Adama Town to its first ever Women’s league title and winning top score of the season with 23 goals, Senaf Wakuma was handed Player of the Year with her team mate Senait Bogale and NegedBank Emebet Addis finishing behind.
Qatar 5000M silver medalist Selomon Barega became the first ever athlete to win EBC Best Athlete of The Year Award for the successive second season while Adama Town athletics flag ship and Doha 10000m silver medalist Letesenbet Gedey was named EBC Best Women Athlete of The Year.
Gebrekristos Birra awarded the Fair Play of The Year for saying no to a side netting goal that could have helped his side Shashemene go home with all three points. The Life Time Award of the Year handed to 102 year-old veteran Wami Birratu. More than seven decades in the sport the award giving was full of emotions, many gave a standing ovation to Wami Birratu’s message and blessing of Ethiopia.
In addition to the certificate the winners each took home 75000 Birr money prize while Wami received a 50000 Birr.

Read more