Sunday, July 14, 2024

Africa: CAF Women’s Champions League – Eight Teams to Participate in Opening Tournament


Ethiopian Women league defending champion Adama ketema need to win the 12 nations’ Council for East and Central African qualification campaign so that it could have a place in the first ever edition of African Women Champions League that takes place in 2021.
The decision was made public during the CAF Executive Committee that took place on Thursday, September 10, 2020.
It has been decided that the first edition of the African Women’s Champions League will take place in 2021. The decision was made public during the Executive Committee of the Confederation of African Football (CAF) that took place on Thursday September 10, 2020 amongst a host of items including the body’s next Presidential election.
According to the conclusions there will be eight finalists for the inaugural edition. Six CAF zones across the continent will organize qualifications to determine the eight finalists for the inaugural CAF Women’s Champions League. The first edition of the CAF Women’s Champions League will see the zonal union of the host country have two representatives, but the following editions will see host countries with one representative while the reigning Champion’s Zone Union will have two representatives.
Council for East and Central Africa Football Association (CECAFA) (12)
Burundi, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Somalia, South Sudan, Tanzania, Zanzibar.
Union of North African Football Federations (UNAF) (5)
Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, Tunisia
West African Football Union (WAFU) (16)
Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Côte d’Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo.
Central African Football Federations’ Union (UNIFFAC) (8)
Cameroon, Congo, Gabon, Equatorial Guinea, Central African Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Sao Tome and Principe, Chad.
Council of Southern Africa Football Associations (COSAFA) (14)
South Africa, Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius Island, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, Eswatini, Zambia, Zimbabwe.
Indian Ocean Football Federation (UFFOI) (6)
Comoros, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mayotte, Réunion Islands, Seychelles

Read more