Huawei awards ICT competition winners

(Photo: Anteneh Aklilu)

Huawei announced the winners of its ICT Competition Ethiopia 2021, entitled “Connection, Glory, Future”. The competition was officially launched on 26th May, following Huawei’s strategy to develop Ethiopia’s ICT talent and innovation ecosystem. The awarding ceremony of the national final, held at InterLuxury Hotel, officially celebrated winners from Practical Competition and Innovation Competition. Over 1,000 participants from all over the country registered for preliminary contest, challenging their understanding of latest

(Photo: Anteneh Aklilu)

technologies, such as Artificial Intelligence (AI), Big Data, Internet of Things (IoT), and 5G.
The final competition was held among 20 top performers and six outstanding groups from 7 universities. Individual contestants competed in Network and Cloud tracks while the group contestants presented innovative ideas that solve daily life problems.
Huawei Ethiopia CEO Chen Mingiliang said “the competition is a unique opportunity for students to test their abilities in these cutting-edge fields, and helps colleges and universities to better understand the talent requirements of today’s top businesses and government leaders. This competition showcases of our commitment to cultivate the ICT talent ecosystem in Ethiopia.”
The individual final was held online and scored by computer automatically, and the innovation contest was refereed by a group of 7 judges consisting university professors, well-known innovators, and government advisors.
Bisrat Yalew from Alfa University took the 1st Prize for the Network Track Practical

(Photo: Anteneh Aklilu)

Competition while Sileshi Nibret from Addis Ababa University took the 1st Prize for the Cloud Track Practical Competition, the team from Addis Ababa Science and Technology took home the 1st Team prize for the Innovation competition with their “Smart City” idea. The winners will be provided the chance to take part in the Regional Final and Global Final in 2022 as Ethiopia’s national team.