Ethio Telecom launches 4G LTE services in 22 towns

(Photo: Anteneh Aklilu)

Ethiopia’s sole telecom service provider Ethio Telecom announced it has expanded its 4G LTE advanced mobile internet service to 22 towns across the country, taking the total number of 4G LTE internet service beneficiary towns to 144. Some 92 towns have been covered in 2020/21 budget year alone.
Deder, Dubti, Debark, Este, Shehadi/Genda Weha, Woreta, Jawi, Adet, Bichena, Dejen, Mota, Asela, Goba, Robe, Sodere, Batu, Halaba, Durame, Konso, Sawla, Shinshicho and Worabe are the major ones among the 22 towns included in the 4G LTE service expansion.
Following up in a promise it made earlier, Ethio Telecom expressed that it has been “immensely working” to finalize its phase II network upgrading and expansion to meet the ever-growing demand for the service. The company said it has also upgraded the existing 4G LTE service in ten cities: Dessie, Debre Tabor, Gondar, Bahir Dar, Debre Markos, Logiya, Hosaena, Sodo, Arbaminch and Butajira.
Ethio Telecom noted the high bandwidth or high-speed features and reliable data services of 4G LTE will enable and empower users to join the digital world, increase productivity and improve their experiences.
Ethio Telecom has called upon all players in the ecosystem to “use the opportunity” for providing useful content and affordable handsets as well as to join hands in realizing digital inclusion in order to foster the need for a digital economy.
Existing customers can upgrade their 3G SIM cards to 4G without any additional charge, Ethio Telecom pointed out. The company has also said it will continue to undertake “massive” 4G LTE expansion in the rest of the country.