19.2 C
Addis Ababa
Saturday, December 4, 2021
Bunna Bank Illustration teaser for web 2
Ethio telecom
previous arrow
next arrow

National boss Abraham calls Walyas to camp

Back from attending the one month African nations cup final as technical analyst, Ethiopian national team Coach Abrahama Mebratu kicked-off an intensive preparation ahead of AFCON Cup final preliminary round qualification two legs showdown against Djibouti. Fasil Town striker Mujib Kassim was the only one absent on Monday where Abraham along with his assistants: back from attending a six month coaching course in Hungary Fasil Tekalegn and Mulugeta Meheret.
A record low 150th in FIFA World Ranking Ethiopia visits 195th Djibouti in the preliminary round first leg qualification match on the 28th of this month while the second leg takes place at home ten days later.
Three goal keepers, eight defenders, seven players each for mid field and strikers’ position the highest numbers of selects are from Premier League runner-up Fasil Town that is four. Ethiopia Coffee, Sidama Coffee, Hawassa Town and Saint George each represented by three players while Baherdar, Welwalo and champions Mekele Town each sent two players. Relegated Mekelakya, Sehul Shere and the only Super league side Sebeta Town each thrown one player thus making the total squad number to twenty-three.
The strike force appears fearsome taking in to consideration the selects are the one finished on top of the scorers roaster. Top scorer with 18 goals Amanuel G/Kidan, runner up Addis Gidey with 17, rising star Mujib Kasim boasting 16, Habtamu Gezahne and Abubaker Naser each bagging ten, Fekadu Alemu with eight and Abel Yalew having five goals.
Though Ethiopian premier league is notorious for being dominated by foreign goal keppers Abraham managed to sort out three goal keppers: Mesay Ayano from Sidama, Teklemariam Shanko of Hawassa and Baherdars Mentsenot Alo.
The aggregate winner of the two qualifies for the second round two leg showdown against Rwanda then the winner to join the group stage. Cameroon is the host while Democratic Republic of Congo is the record winners with two titles as Morocco are the reigning champions.

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles