Sixteen candidates for EFF Executive body


The interim electoral committee made official the candidates name running for the election of the executive committee membership seat of Ethiopian Football Federation. Despite having the right to have more than a single candidate, Southern region, Ethio-Somali, Diredawa, Afar, Bensangul and Harari sent one candidate each while Addis Ababa represented by three candidates. Some of the candidates including former national head coach Sewnet Bishaw are hardly belong to the place they are representing.
Coming together for two days to deliberate on the records submitted by candidates, the electoral interim committee announced the sixteen legible personalities running for EFF’s ten seat executive committee members to serve the nation for the next four year terms. Though the tussling and bustling is in a high swing many critics suggest that since the trend shows that the outgoing executive body is better than the incoming, football fans are expecting nothing out of the current election.
Blamed by the incumbent executive body for that huge blunder concerning Women’s football Yosef Tesfaye, former Ethiopian national team player turned successful coach Asrat Haile and Engineer Haileyesus Fisseha are from Addis Ababa. Dedebit FC founder Colonel Awol Abdurahim and Woldegebriel Mezegebu from Tigray, Dr Haili Etecha and Kemal Hussein from Oromia while Sewnet Bishaw and Dr Sirak H/Mariam from Amhara.
The only women candidate Sofia Almamun (Benshangul), members of the outgoing cabinet Abebe Gelagay, Zerihun Kekebo and Alimirah Mohammed from Diredawa, Southern region and Afar respectively, Ibrahim Ahmed (Harari) and Abdulrazak Hasan (Ethio-Somali) are the full list of the candidates running for ten seats